CAHS Elections Committee: Annual Report for the 2022-2023 Academic Year

Members: Rhiannon Phillips (CSDI), Ray Hylock (HSIM), & Lynne Murphy (OCCT)

May 2022:

Rhiannon Phillips (CSDI) agreed to continue as chair of this committee.

November 2022:

Notified of a faculty departure from ECU. This faculty member served on a CAHS committee and as a Faculty Senate Alternate. The elections committee discussed these vacancies with CAHS Faculty Council Chair, Alex Durland. The decision was reached to hold off on filling these vacancies until the scheduled spring elections. The election for Faculty Senate Alternate will be held in March 2023 and the election for the CAHS committee will be held in April/May 2023.

February 2023:

The Elections Committee met to plan the spring elections. University Committee elections were planned to take place in March. No terms were expiring on the Graduate Council. Three Faculty Senate and three Faculty Senate Alternate positions will be on the ballot. CAHS committee elections were scheduled to take place in late April/early May. Began soliciting nominations for Faculty Senate.

March 2023:

Election for Faculty Senate was held 3/20/2023-3/24/2023. Election Results are as follows: Elected Faculty Senators
Toyin Babatunde (NUTR)
Lauren Turbeville (OCCT)
Will Eblin (CSDI)

Elected Faculty Senate Alternates
Rick Baybutt (NUTR)
Denise Donica (OCCT)
Christine Lysaght (PTHE)

April-May 2023:

Solicited nominations from CAHS faculty for vacant committee positions. Notified by an elected CAHS Faculty Senator that they needed to resign form their senate position. When the call was placed for nominations for CAHS Committees, the faculty was also notified of vacancy on the Faculty Senate. Hoped to include the special Faculty Senate election with the spring committee elections. No nominations for Faculty Senate were received. Spring committee election was held 4/28/2023-5/5/2023. Election results are as follows:

<u>Undergraduate Affairs and Curriculum Committee</u> Katelyn Rouse (HSIM)

Graduate Affairs and Curriculum Committee

Erzsebet Szatmari (PTHE) Tina Seemann (PADP) Andrew Vermiglio (CSDI)

Student/Faculty Committee

Caroline Adams (OCCT) Emily Brewer (CSDI)

Honors and Awards Committee

Michael Wheeler (NUTR) Vacancy

Diversity Committee

Elijah Asagbra (HSIM)

Elections Committee

Ray Hylock (HSIM)

CAHS Faculty Council

Chair: Alex Durland (PTHE)

Secretary: Lauren Turbeville (OCCT)

Member at-Large: Shanna Garcia (OCCT)

The Elections Committee was unable to secure a nomination and fill one position on the Honors and Awards Committee.

Report written and submitted May 9, 2023, by Rhiannon Phillips, Chair of CAHS Elections Committee